arcoro Glossar

Diabetes mellitius

Diabetes mellitius is better known as diabetes and is a metabolic disease. Patients with this disease have a continuously elevated blood glucose level. The disturbance of the blood sugar level is either due to insulin resistance or insulin deficiency, which in the long term can lead to damage to blood vessels and organs. The disease is divided into 3 clinical types:

  • Type 1 diabetes: The patient’s pancreas produces insufficient or no endogenous insulin. Patients must continuously inject themselves with insulin to bring their elevated blood glucose levels into the normal range. This routine accompanies these patients throughout their lives. Nevertheless, this form of diabetes is less common on average.
  • Type 2 diabetes: In this clinical picture, too little sugar gets from the blood into the corresponding tissue. Due to the insufficient insulin action, the concentration of sugar in the blood is too high. This leads to a lack of energy. Type 2 diabetes is the most common type of diabetes. Patients can be treated by dietary changes and exercise as well as special medication or insulin.
  • Gestational diabetes: is a concomitant disease, usually without symptoms, that occurs in many pregnant women. The change in metabolism during pregnancy can lead to excessive blood sugar, as sugar is absorbed by the body’s cells much more slowly after eating than in non-pregnant women. Gestational diabetes often occurs when women have previously had permanently reduced insulin sensitivity.

The symptoms that occur most frequently are fatigue and weakness, a strong feeling of thirst, dry skin and frequent urination. Diabetes is often caused by obesity, insufficient exercise and poor, high-fat diet. For this reason, treatment is also based in advance on a change in lifestyle, the integration of sport into everyday life and a more conscious diet. In addition, oral medication and, in advanced stages of type 2 diabetes, insulin injections can also be used to counteract this.

Your contact person

Anne Plonz

Business Analyst

Load more news
Load less news

arcoro Glossar

Diabetes mellitius

Diabetes Mellitius ist besser bekannt als Zuckerkrankheit und ist eine Stoffwechselkrankheit. Patienten haben dabei einen kontinuierlich erhöhten Blutzuckerspiegel. Die Störung des Blutzuckerspiegels ist entweder auf eine Insulinresistenz oder jedoch auf einen Insulinmagel zurückzuführen, was langfristig zur Schädigung von Gefäßen und Organen führen kann. Die Krankheit wird in 3 Krankheitsbilder unterschieden:

  • Diabetes Typ 1: Die Bauchspeicheldrüse der Patienten stellt unzureichend oder gar kein körpereigenes Insulin her. Patienten müssen sich kontinuierlich Insulin spritzen, damit der erhöhte Blutzuckerspiegel in den Normalbereich gelangt. Diese Routine begleitet diese Patienten ein Leben lang. Dennoch ist diese Diabetes Form im Durchschnitt seltener vertreten.
  • Diabetes Typ 2: Bei diesem Krankheitsbild gerät zu wenig Zucker aus dem Blut in das entsprechende Gewebe. Durch die mangelhafte Insulinwirkung ist die Konzentration des Zuckers im Blut zu hoch. Es kommt zu einem Energiemangel. Diabetes Typ 2 ist die am häufigsten auftretende Diabeteserkrankung. Patienten können durch Ernährungsumstellung und Bewegung sowie spezielle Medikamente oder Insulin behandelt werden.
  • Schwangerschaftsdiabetes: ist eine meist symptomlos verlaufende Begleiterkrankung, die bei vielen Schwangeren auftritt. Durch die Veränderung des Stoffwechsels während einer Schwangerschaft kann es zu überhöhtem Blutzucker kommen, da der Zucker nach dem Essen deutlich langsamer von den Körperzellen aufgenommen wird als bei nicht-schwangeren Frauen. Häufig tritt Schwangerschaftsdiabetes auf, wenn die Frauen bereits zuvor eine dauerhaft reduzierte Insulinsensibilität hatten.

Die Symptome, die am häufigsten bei Diabetes Mellitius auftreten, sind Müdigkeit und Schwäche, starkes Durstgefühl, trockene Haut und häufiges Wasserlassen. Bedingt wird Diabetes durch Übergewicht, unzureichender Bewegung und schlechter, fettreicher Ernährung. Daher wird bei der Behandlung auch vorab auf eine Veränderung des Life-Styles, die Integration von Sport in den Alltag und einer bewussteren Ernährung hingewiesen. Zusätzlich kann über eine orale Medikation und in fortgeschrittenen Stadien des Diabetes Typ 2 mit Insulinspritzen entgegengewirkt werden.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Anne Plonz

Business Analyst

Telefon: +4915156319362

E-Mail: plonz@arcoro.de

Kompetenzbereiche

Mehr News laden Weniger News laden